Uganda T20 World Cup Squad Announced 2024 | USA T20WC 2024

After surprising Zimbabwe and the rest of Africa in qualifying, the Cricket Cranes are gearing up for Group C action in the upcoming tournament. They will face tough opponents in co-hosts West Indies, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, and Afghanistan.

Uganda National Cricket Team in T20 World Cup 2024

Brian Masaba will lead the team, with Riazat Ali Shah serving as his deputy. Masaba, along with several other experienced Ugandan players, brings over a decade’s worth of international cricket experience to the table. Notably, 43-year-old Frank Nsubuga, one of the oldest players in the tournament, adds depth to the squad.

Frank Nsubuga (image: Cricket.com)

Nsubuga, a beloved figure in emerging cricket circles, has dedicated his life to the game. He first represented Uganda in ICC events at the age of 17 in the 1997 ICC Trophy, a stepping stone towards the Cricket World Cup 1999. Recently, he made headlines with a spectacular catch in a Cricket World Cup Challenge League match against Kenya in 2022.

In addition to Nsubuga’s contributions, spin-bowling all-rounder Alpesh Ramjani has been in fine form, earning a nomination for the 2023 ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year. Ramjani claimed the most T20I wickets in men’s cricket last year, with an impressive economy rate.

Joining Ramjani is left-arm orthodox spinner Henry Ssenyondo, who also had a strong showing in 2023, taking 49 wickets in the same period. Notable aggressors with the bat include Riazat Ali Shah and Dinesh Nakrani, while the team also benefits from the U19 World Cup experience of youngster Juma Miyaji.

Although this marks Uganda’s first participation in a senior men’s World Cup, the country has been represented in global events before, notably through the now-defunct East Africa team in the 1975 Cricket World Cup, where Samuel Walusimbi featured.

Uganda kicks off their T20 World Cup campaign on June 3 against Afghanistan in Guyana.


  • Brian Masaba (c)
  • Simon Ssesazi
  • Roger Mukasa
  • Cosmas Kyewuta
  • Dinesh Nakrani
  • Fred Achelam
  • Kenneth Waiswa
  • Alpesh Ramjani
  • Frank Nsubuga
  • Henry Ssenyondo
  • Bilal Hassun
  • Robinson Obuya
  • Riazat Ali Shah (vc)
  • Juma Miyaji
  • Ronak Patel.

Reserve Players:

  • Innocent Mwebaze
  • Ronald Lutaaya

About the author

Bhanu Partap

Bhanu Pratap is a sports blogger who specializes in cricket and football. With a strong passion for both sports, he shares insightful analyses and opinions through his blog. His well-researched content provides a unique perspective on matches, player performances, and trends in these sports. Bhanu's engaging writing contributes to the sports community by sparking discussions and keeping readers informed and entertained.

Leave a Comment