Super Smash 2023-24 Schedule, Start Date, Team List, And Venue

The Super Smash is New Zealand’s premier domestic Twenty20 cricket tournament featuring the top players from across the country. The 22nd edition of the Super Smash is scheduled to be held from 19th December 2023 to 28th January 2024.

Super Smash 2023-24 Schedule, Start Date, Team List, And Venue

Overview of Super Smash 2023-24:

  • Number of Teams: The tournament will feature 6 teams – Auckland Aces, Canterbury Kings, Central Stags, Northern Knights, Otago Volts, and Wellington Firebirds.
  • Number of Matches: A total of 32 matches will be played in a double round-robin format along with 2 semi-finals and the final.
  • Venues: The matches will be hosted across 9 venues in major cities like Auckland, Hamilton, Napier, New Plymouth, Christchurch, Dunedin and Wellington.
  • Timings: With the matches being played in New Zealand, the start time will be as per NZST (New Zealand Standard Time). Most matches are scheduled in the evening slots.
  • Key Players: Leading domestic and international cricketers like Martin Guptill, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult, Devon Conway among others will be seen in action.
  • Live Streaming: Live coverage of the matches will be available on platforms like Spark Sport and Sky Sport NZ.

Super Smash 2023-24 Match Schedule:

The Super Smash 2023-24 will kick off on 19th December 2023 with a match between Auckland Aces and Otago Volts at Eden Park Outer Oval in Auckland. The league stage will conclude on 15th January after which the playoffs including two semifinals and the final will be played.

Super Smash 2023-24 Full Schedule – Fixtures, Date, and Time

Here is the full match schedule for Super Smash 2023-24:

 super smash 2023-24 Schedule Full Hd image
DateMatchVenueLocal Time
Dec 19, TueAuckland Aces vs Canterbury KingsKennards Hire Community Oval12:30 pm
Dec 21, ThuWellington Firebirds vs Otago VoltsCello Basin Reserve4:00 pm
Dec 22, FriNorthern Brave (M) vs Central StagsSeddon Park5:30 pm
Dec 24, SunWellington Firebirds vs Auckland AcesCello Basin Reserve1:30 pm
Dec 26, TueCanterbury Kings vs Otago VoltsHagley Oval5:30 pm
Dec 27, WedCentral Stags vs Northern Brave (M)Fitzherbert Park4:00 pm
Dec 28, ThuOtago Volts vs Wellington FirebirdsMolyneux Park4:00 pm
Dec 29, FriCentral Stags vs Auckland AcesPukekura Park4:00 pm
Dec 30, SatCentral Stags vs Canterbury KingsPukekura Park4:00 pm
Jan 1, MonOtago Volts vs Auckland AcesMolyneux Park4:00 pm
Jan 2, TueNorthern Brave (M) vs Wellington FirebirdsBay Oval5:30 pm
Jan 3, WedOtago Volts vs Canterbury KingsMolyneux Park4:00 pm
Jan 4, ThuAuckland Aces vs Wellington FirebirdsKennards Hire Community Oval4:00 pm
Jan 5, FriCanterbury Kings vs Central StagsHagley Oval4:00 pm
Jan 6, SatNorthern Brave (M) vs Otago VoltsSeddon Park5:30 pm
Jan 7, SunCanterbury Kings vs Auckland AcesHagley Oval4:00 pm
Jan 8, MonCentral Stags vs Wellington FirebirdsMcLean Park2:00 pm
Jan 9, TueOtago Volts vs Central StagsHagley Oval5:30 pm
Jan 10, WedCanterbury Kings vs Wellington FirebirdsHagley Oval2:00 pm
Jan 11, ThuNorthern Brave (M) vs Auckland AcesBay Oval4:00 pm
Jan 12, FriWellington Firebirds vs Central StagsCello Basin Reserve4:00 pm
Jan 13, SatAuckland Aces vs Otago VoltsKennards Hire Community Oval12:30 pm
Jan 14, SunWellington Firebirds vs Northern Brave (M)Cello Basin Reserve4:00 pm
Jan 15, MonAuckland Aces vs Central StagsKennards Hire Community Oval4:00 pm
Jan 16, TueNorthern Brave (M) vs Canterbury KingsSeddon Park5:30 pm
Jan 18, ThuOtago Volts vs Central StagsUniversity of Otago Oval4:00 pm
Jan 20, SatAuckland Aces vs Northern Brave (M)Kennards Hire Community Oval4:00 pm
Jan 22, MonWellington Firebirds vs Canterbury KingsCello Basin Reserve4:00 pm
Jan 23, TueOtago Volts vs Northern Brave (M)University of Otago Oval4:00 pm
Jan 28, SunFinalHagley Oval8:30 pm
Super Smash

The tournament final between the top two teams will be played on 28 January 2024 at the University of Otago Oval in Dunedin.

With world-class players, high-scoring matches and huge crowds, the Super Smash 2023-24 promises to be an exciting way for cricket fans to welcome the New Year!

Super Smash 2023-24 Participating Teams

The Super Smash 2023-24 will feature 6 domestic teams who will compete in the T20 tournament. The teams participating are:

AucklandMartin Guptill
CanterburyCole McConchie
Central DistrictsTom Bruce
Northern KnightsAnton Devcich
OtagoHamish Rutherford
WellingtonMichael Bracewell

Auckland, led by Martin Guptill, has other key players like Glenn Phillips in its ranks.

Canterbury is the defending champion team from last season, captained by Cole McConchie and having Tom Latham.

Central Districts has captain Tom Bruce along with Ross Taylor and Ajaz Patel.

Northern Knights are captained by Anton Devcich and include Kane Williamson and Tim Seifert.

Otago, led by Hamish Rutherford, features Neil Broom and Jacob Duffy.

Lastly, Wellington has captain Michael Bracewell along with Devon Conway and Tom Blundell.

These six domestic teams will compete in the league stage matches, semi-finals and final to be held in January 2024.

Super Smash 2023-24 Venues and their Capacity – Average Score Details

Here is a table summarizing the key details of the 9 venues for Super Smash 2023-24:

VenueCityCapacityHome TeamT20 Matches HostedAvg 1st Innings ScoreAvg 2nd Innings Score
Eden Park Outer OvalAuckland5,000Auckland23165153
Basin ReserveWellington11,600Wellington25163147
Seddon ParkHamilton10,000Northern Knights37168152
Hagley OvalChristchurch18,000Canterbury16157143
Fitzherbert ParkPalmerston North5,000Central Districts10157145
Molyneux ParkAlexandra4,000Otago12169156
University OvalDunedin6,000Otago11161149
McLean ParkNapier22,500Central Districts17176164
Bay OvalMount Maunganui10,000Northern Knights19172160

About the author

Bhanu Partap

Bhanu Pratap is a sports blogger who specializes in cricket and football. With a strong passion for both sports, he shares insightful analyses and opinions through his blog. His well-researched content provides a unique perspective on matches, player performances, and trends in these sports. Bhanu's engaging writing contributes to the sports community by sparking discussions and keeping readers informed and entertained.

Leave a Comment