Blog More Leagues

Big Bash League 2023-24 Prize Money, Awards and All-time Winners

The 11th season of Australia’s hugely popular Big Bash League T20 cricket tournament came to an exhilarating conclusion on February 4, 2023, with the Perth Scorchers defeating the Brisbane Heat in the final at Perth Stadium. This thrilling last-over win clinched a record 5th BBL title for the Scorchers, making them the most successful franchise in tournament history.

Big bash league
PRize Money, awards, and winners

The Scorchers were powered to victory by an outstanding all-round performance from Player of the Match Cameron Green.

The 23-year-old Australian all-rounder smashed an aggressive 52 runs from 37 balls to propel the Scorchers to 168/5, before taking 3 wickets with the ball to restrict the Heat to 163/6.

Green’s man-of-the-match effort fittingly capped off a stellar individual BBL season where he finished as the 3rd highest run scorer.

In addition to the ultimate glory, the Scorchers took home a winner’s prize purse of A$500,000 (approx INR 2.8 crores). Runners-up Brisbane Heat received A$250,000 as the losing finalists.

The two losing semi-finalists, Sydney Sixers and Melbourne Stars, each pocketed A$100,000 for their efforts. Even the 5th-placed Adelaide Strikers took home A$30,000.

These substantial cash prizes highlight the BBL’s commitment to rewarding on-field success.

A number of other individual prizes were awarded to recognize outstanding performances throughout the 2-month long T20 extravaganza.

English player Liam Livingstone claimed the Big Bash League Player of the Tournament award after smashing 438 runs at an incredible strike rate of 178.

He also took 5 wickets with his handy spin bowling. Melbourne Renegades all-rounder Akeal Hosein was named the tournament’s Best Emerging Player.

Afghanistan spin wizard Rashid Khan came out on top with 20 wickets playing for the Adelaide Strikers in the race for the leading wicket-taker trophy.

Livingstone’s 438 runs were just edged out by Sydney Thunder’s Alex Hales who compiled 543 runs to claim the Leading Run Scorer award.

Big Bash League Prize Money 2023-24

PositionBig Bash League Prize MoneyBig Bash League Prize Money in INR
5th Place Team$30k AUDINR 16.9 Million
Semi-Finalists$100k AUD (each losing team)INR 56.7 Million
Runner-ups$250k AUDINR 142 Million
Winners$500k AUDINR 284 Million

Big Bash League 2022-23 Awards and Winners

PlayerAwardsPrize Money (USD)Prize Money (INR)
Perth ScorchersChampions$500,000Approximately INR 2.8 crore
Brisbane HeatRunners-up$250,000Approximately INR 1.24 crore
Ashton TurnerPlayer of the Final
Aaron HardieGolden Bat award (460 runs)
Sean AbbottGolden Arm award (29 wickets)

Big Bash League All-Time Winners (2011-2023)

2011-12Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2012-13Brisbane HeatPerth Scorchers
2013-14Perth ScorchersHobart Hurricanes
2014-15Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2015-16Sydney ThunderMelbourne Stars
2016-17Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2017-18Adelaide StrikersHobarts Hurricanes
2018-19Melbourne RenegadesMelbourne Stars
2019-20Sydney SixersMelbourne Stars
2020-21Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2021-22Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2022-23Perth ScorchersBrisbane Heat

About the author

Bhanu Partap

Bhanu Pratap is a sports blogger who specializes in cricket and football. With a strong passion for both sports, he shares insightful analyses and opinions through his blog. His well-researched content provides a unique perspective on matches, player performances, and trends in these sports. Bhanu's engaging writing contributes to the sports community by sparking discussions and keeping readers informed and entertained.

Leave a Comment