ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Prize Money (Breakdown)

The 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup, the pinnacle of the One Day International calendar, is right around the corner. This 12th edition of the prestigious quadrennial tournament is set to begin in October across venues in India.

As hosts, immense expectations will be on Team India to repeat their 2011 Cricket World Cup triumph on home soil. Under captain Rohit Sharma, the cricket-crazy nation will be hoping for their third title.

ICC Cricket world cup 2023 Prize money breakdown

The last three Cricket World Cups have been won by the host country – Australia in 2015, England in 2019 and now all eyes are on India to continue the pattern.

Along with the glory of lifting the trophy, the ICC has announced substantial financial rewards for the 10 participating teams. The total prize money pot is an impressive $3.8 million.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Teams

The 2023 ODI Cricket World Cup will feature cricket’s top 10 teams competing in a round-robin group stage for a coveted spot in the semi-finals.

So far, 8 teams have automatically qualified based on the ODI rankings – hosts India, England, Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, West Indies, Bangladesh and Afghanistan.

Sri Lanka and the Netherlands claimed the final two spots by topping the recent ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier tournament.

This gives us the complete 10-team lineup:

  • India – As hosts and ODI powerhouse, India will aim for their 3rd title.
  • England – Current ODI World Cup holders, England will look to defend their crown.
  • Australia – 5-time champions Australia can never be counted out with a formidable squad.
  • Pakistan – Boasting talent like Babar Azam and Shaheen Afridi, Pakistan hopes to repeat their 1992 heroics.
  • New Zealand – Runners-up in 2019, the consistent Kiwis will eye going one better this time.
  • West Indies – Explosive batting makes the West Indies a threat in the ODI format.
  • Bangladesh – Led by veteran Shakib Al Hasan, Bangladesh’s ‘dark horse’ status makes them dangerous.
  • Afghanistan – Their rise has been remarkable. Afghanistan will aim to cause upsets.
  • Sri Lanka – Former champions Sri Lanka still have the skills to challenge any top team.
  • Netherlands – The Dutch qualified through sheer determination and have nothing to lose.

With all major teams in the fray, the round-robin stage promises intense competition. Only the top 4 will make the knockouts, so every game is crucial! The ODI Cricket World Cup will feature world-class cricket and plenty of thrilling moments.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Venue Details

The 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup will be played across 10 venues in India. Matches are set to take place in major metro cities along with smaller tier-2 host cities, bringing the mega event to fans nationwide.

Wankhede StadiumMumbai
Eden GardensKolkata
Feroz Shah KotlaDelhi
M Chinnaswamy StadiumBangalore
MA Chidambaram StadiumChennai
Narendra Modi StadiumAhmedabad
Rajiv Gandhi International StadiumHyderabad
HPCA StadiumDharamsala
Ekana StadiumLucknow
MCA StadiumPune

ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2023 Prize Money Announced

The 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup is going to be the most lucrative ever, with a massive $10 million total prize purse!

The winners of this 10-team tournament will take home a huge jackpot of $4 million along with the trophy. I mean, $4 million just for winning the title – not bad right?

As runners-up, the team will get a massive amount of $2 million. And even the losing semifinalists won’t go home empty-handed. Each will receive $800,000 for their efforts.

Here is the Full ICC Cricket world Cup 2023 Prize Money Breakups:

ICC CWC 2023 SpotPrize Money 
Winner$ 4,000,000
Losing Semi-Finalist (2 Teams)$ 40,000 for each Team
Winner of Each League Stage Match (45 Teams)$ 100,000 for each Team
Teams that do pass the League Stage (6 Teams)$ 100,000 each Team
Total Prize Money $10,000,000

With the world’s best cricketers competing in a round-robin format, every single World Cup match also has a prize incentive. Teams earn cash for each league match they win.

So there is plenty at stake in what promises to be a very competitive tournament. The teams will surely be even more fired up and motivated with these record prize purses within reach.

The ICC knows fans want to see fiercely contested cricket. So they’ve made the rewards well worth fighting for! A shot at $4 million and eternal glory awaits the new World Cup champions.

With national pride and such massive financial incentives at stake, the cricket action over the coming weeks is set to be intense and drama-filled. Stellar individual performances could make players instant crorepatis!

Will India’s stars transform their Cricket World Cup dreams into reality? We’ll soon find out as the cricketing world descends on India for this iconic global tournament.

About the author


Leave a Comment